Feb 26, 2012; Louisville, KY, USA; Pittsburgh Panthers head coach Jamie Dixon calls out instructions during the second half against the Louisville Cardinals at the KFC Yum! Center. Louisville defeated Pittsburgh 57-54. Credit: Jamie Rhodes-US PRESSWIRE

Pittsburgh Panthers men’s basketball schedule released


The Pittsburgh Panthers had a disappointing 2011-12 season and they will be the first to admit that, but now with the release of their schedule for the upcoming season, they can plan for better times ahead.

As was public knowlege, the Panthers will start their season with the Midnight Madness Event at the Cathedral of Learning on Friday, Oct. 12. The event is free, open to the public and will last from 9-11 p.m.

Following the traditional Blue-Gold Scrimmage and FanFest/Maggie Dixon Heart and Health Fair (no dates or times have been released on those) will be two exhibition matches, both of which will be held at the Petersen Events Center. The opponents will be Indiana (Pa.) on Friday, Oct. 26 and Hawaii Hilo on Friday, Nov. 2.

As for the non-conference schedule Pitt will open its season on Friday, Nov. 9 against Mount St. Mary’s, a team that went 8-21 last season.

Other non-conference opponents are Oakland, Howard, Detroit, North Florida, Bethune-Cookman, Delaware State and Kennesaw State.

The Panthers will once again play Duquesne in the yearly City Game Wednesday, Dec. 5 at Consol Energy Center.

The Panthers will host the Preseason NIT Monday, Nov. 12 and Tuesday, Nov. 13 however opponents are not known at this time. If they win both of those games, they will go to Madison Square Garden to play a semifinal game on Wednesday, Nov. 21 and a championship or consolation Friday, Nov. 23. It is known that other teams besides Pitt that will host Preseason NIT games are Michigan, Virginia and Kansas State.

Looking at the Big East schedule, the Panthers play four teams twice and they are Cincinnati, Marquette, DePaul and Villanova.

Other Big East teams the Panthers will play at home are Connecticut, Syracuse, Seton Hall, Notre Dame and South Florida.

The Big East Tournament is schedule for March 12-16 with the NCAA Tournament beginning March 18.

Here is the complete Panthers 2012-13 schedule:

2012-13 PITT MEN’S BASKETBALL SCHEDULE
(tipoff times are subject to change; conference opponents have asterisk beside name)
Date Opponent (TV) Location Time

Friday, Oct. 12 MIDNIGHT MADNESS EVENT Cathedral of Learning 9-11 p.m.

TBA BLUE-GOLD SCRIMMAGE Petersen Events Center TBA

TBA FAN FEST/MAGGIE DIXON HEART HEALTH FAIR Petersen Events Center TBA

Friday, Oct. 26 INDIANA, Pa. (Exh.) Petersen Events Center TBA
Friday, Nov. 2 HAWAII-HILO (Exh.) Petersen Events Center TBA

Friday, Nov. 9 MOUNT ST. MARY’S Petersen Events Center TBA

Preseason NIT (Pittsburgh, Pa.)

*Monday, Nov. 12 TBA Petersen Events Center TBA
*Tuesday, Nov. 13 TBA Petersen Events Center TBA

Saturday, Nov. 17 OAKLAND Petersen Events Center TBA

Preseason NIT (New York, N.Y.)

*Wednesday, Nov. 21 Semifinal (ESPN2/ESPNU) TBA-Madison Square Garden TBA
*Friday, Nov. 23 Championship/Consolation (ESPN) TBA-Madison Square Garden TBA
Host schools: Pitt, Michigan, Virginia, Kansas State
(*Note: Pitt must win in order to advance to New York. If it does not advance, it will host two Preseason NIT games
on both Monday, Nov. 19 and Tuesday, Nov. 20 at the Petersen Events Center)

Tuesday, Nov. 27 HOWARD Petersen Events Center TBA

Saturday, Dec. 1 DETROIT Petersen Events Center TBA

City Game (Pittsburgh, Pa.)
Wednesday, Dec. 5 vs. Duquesne Consol Energy Center TBA

Saturday, Dec. 8 NORTH FLORIDA Petersen Events Center TBA

Saturday, Dec. 15 BETHUNE-COOKMAN Petersen Events Center TBA

Wednesday, Dec. 19 DELAWARE STATE Petersen Events Center TBA

Sunday, Dec. 23 KENNESAW STATE Petersen Events Center TBA

Monday, Dec. 31 *CINCINNATI (ESPN2) Petersen Events Center Noon

Saturday, Jan. 5 at *Rutgers (ESPN2) Piscataway, N.J./RAC 11 a.m.

Tuesday, Jan. 8 at *Georgetown (ESPNU) Washington, D.C./Verizon Center 9 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 12 *MARQUETTE (ESPNU) Petersen Events Center Noon

Wednesday, Jan. 16 at *Villanova (ESPNU) TBA 7 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 19 *CONNECTICUT (ESPN2) Petersen Events Center Noon

Tuesday, Jan. 22 at *Providence (ESPN2) Providence, R.I./Dunkin Donuts Center 7 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 26 *DEPAUL Petersen Events Center TBA

Monday, Jan. 28 at *Louisville (ESPN) Louisville, Ky./KFC Yum! Center 7 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 2 *SYRACUSE (ESPN) Petersen Events Center Noon

Monday, Feb. 4 *SETON HALL (ESPNU) Petersen Events Center 9 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 9 at *Cincinnati (ESPN/ESPN2) Cincinnati, Ohio/Fifth Third Arena TBA

Saturday, Feb. 16 at *Marquette (CBS) Milwaukee, Wis./Bradley Center 1 p.m.

Monday, Feb. 18 *NOTRE DAME (ESPN) Petersen Events Center 7 p.m.

Sunday, Feb. 24 at *St. John’s New York, N.Y./Madison Square Garden TBA

Wednesday, Feb. 27 *SOUTH FLORIDA Petersen Events Center TBA

Sunday, March 3 *VILLANOVA Petersen Events Center TBA

Saturday, March 9 at *DePaul Rosemont, Ill./AllState Arena TBA

Tue.-Sat., March 12-16 at Big East Championship (ESPN) New York, N.Y./MSG TBA

March 21-24 NCAA Second & Third Rounds (CBS-plus) TBA

March 28-31 NCAA Regionals (CBS-plus) TBA

April 6 and 8 NCAA Final Four (CBS-plus) Atlanta, Ga./Georgia Dome TBA

Tags: Breaking Pitt Panthers Basketball Pittsburgh Panthers

Comments are closed.