Jerome Bettis, Kevin Greene Finalists for 2013 Hall of Fame Class

The number 13 is widely considered an unlucky number, but maybe the year 2013 will be lucky for a pair of former Pittsburgh Steelers.

Former Steelers Jerome Bettis and Kevin Greene are both finalists for the 2013 Class for the Pro Football Hall of Fame and at least in the case of Bettis, ’13 could be his lucky number.

Feb 6, 2011; Arlington, TX, USA; Green Bay Packers linebackers coach Kevin Greene before Super Bowl XLV against the Pittsburgh Steelers at Cowboys Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

Bettis has now been a finalist in all three years that he has been eligible for the Hall of Fame and this year he is the only running back eligible.

Greene has been eligible for induction since 2002 and was also a finalist in 2012.

Greene probably has no chance at induction this season, but Bettis may; although he is in the same boat as players such as Tim Brown, Cris Carter, Jonathan Odgen, Will Shields, Charles Haley, Larry Allen and Michael Strahan, who are all Hall of Fame worthy.

I have to think Odgen and former head coach Bill Parcells could be the two favorites. If I had to guess on two more, it would be Allen and Brown, but the votes can go either way and Bettis should be close this year.

Here is a look at all of the finalists for the 2013 Class for the Pro Football Hall of Fame:

• Larry Allen – Guard/Tackle – 1994-2005 Dallas Cowboys; 2006-07 San Francisco 49ers

• Jerome Bettis – Running Back – 1993-95 Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams; 1996-2005 Pittsburgh Steelers

• Tim Brown – Wide Receiver/Kick Returner/Punt Returner – 1988-2003 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders; 2004 Tampa Bay Buccaneers

• Cris Carter – Wide Receiver – 1987-89 Philadelphia Eagles; 1990-2001 Minnesota Vikings; 2002 Miami Dolphins

• Curley Culp* – 1968-1974 Kansas City Chiefs; 1974-1980 Houston Oilers; 1980-81 Detroit Lions

• Edward DeBartolo, Jr. – Owner – 1977-2000 San Francisco 49ers

• Kevin Greene – Linebacker/Defensive End – 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams; 1993-95 Pittsburgh Steelers; 1996, 1998-99 Carolina Panthers; 1997 San Francisco 49ers

• Charles Haley – Defensive End/Linebacker – 1986-1991, 1999 San Francisco 49ers; 1992-96 Dallas Cowboys

• Art Modell – Owner – 1961-1995 Cleveland Browns; 1996-2011 Baltimore Ravens

• Jonathan Ogden – Tackle – 1996-2007 Baltimore Ravens

• Bill Parcells – Coach – 1983-1990 New York Giants; 1993-96 New England Patriots; 1997-99 New York Jets; 2003-06 Dallas Cowboys

• Andre Reed – Wide Receiver – 1985-1999 Buffalo Bills; 2000 Washington Redskins

• Dave Robinson* – 1963-1972 Green Bay Packers; 1973-74 Washington Redskins

• Warren Sapp – Defensive Tackle – 1995-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers; 2004-07 Oakland Raiders

• Will Shields – Guard – 1993-2006 Kansas City Chiefs

• Michael Strahan – Defensive End – 1993-2007 New York Giants

• Aeneas Williams – Cornerback/Safety – 1991-2000 Phoenix/Arizona Cardinals; 2001-04 St. Louis Rams

Follow City of Champions Sports on Twitter and Facebook

Follow Matt Shetler on Twitter and Facebook

Tags: 2013 NFL Hall Of Fame Class Jerome Bettis Kevin Greene Pittsburgh Steelers

comments powered by Disqus