2013 NFL Hall of Fame Class: Jerome Bettis denied induction again

The 2013 NFL Hall of Fame Class was unveiled Saturday evening and just like it has the past couple of seasons; it did not include Pittsburgh Steelers’ running back Jerome Bettis.

Bettis was eligible for the third time and made the final vote of 10, but was not one of the seven selections for this year’s class.

Unlike the past two years, when he was blocked by other running backs in Marshall Faulk (2011) and Curtis Martin (2012), Bettis was the only running back among the finalist.

The lucky five modern era candidates who will be inducted in Canton come August include: guard Larry Allen, offensive tackle Jonathan Odgen, defensive tackle Warren Sapp, wide receiver Cris Carter and head coach Bill Parcells.

Those five will be joined by Curley Culp and Dave Robinson, who made the Hall of Fame as part of the senior class voting process.

Bettis ranks sixth on the NFL’s all-time rushing list. The top four (Emmitt Smith, Walter Payton, Barry Sanders and Martin) are in the Hall of Fame, and LaDainian Tomlinson, who is fifth, retired before the start of the 2012 season.

It would have been nice to see “The Bus” get into the Hall of Fame this season, but it is hard to argue with any of the selections.

Former Steelers’ linebacker Kevin Greene was one of the final 15 finalists, but did not make the final cut of 10.

Follow City of Champions Sports on Twitter and Facebook

Follow Matt Shetler on Twitter and Facebook

Tags: 2013 NFL Hall Of Fame Class Jerome Bettis Kevin Greene Pittsburgh Steelers

comments powered by Disqus