Jun 7, 2013; Boston, MA, USA; Pittsburgh Penguins center Sidney Crosby (87) prepares to take a face off against the Boston bruins in the second period in game four of the Eastern Conference finals of the 2013 Stanley Cup Playoffs at TD Garden. Mandatory Credit: Michael Ivins-USA TODAY Sports

Pittsburgh Penguins' Sidney Crosby wins Ted Lindsay Award

On Saturday night, the National Hockey League announced the Pittsburgh Penguins’ Sidney Crosby was the 2013 recipient of the Ted Lindsay Award, which goes to the league’s “Most Outstanding Player” as voted on by the league’s players.

Crosby, 25, won the Ted Lindsay Award for the second time in his career, the  first time since the 2006-07 season. When he won the award in 2007, it was known as the Lester B. Pearson Award. It also marks the second consecutive year that a Pittsburgh player won the Ted Lindsay Award, following Evgeni Malkin last year.

The Pens center won despite missing the final 12 games of the lockout-shortened regular season after having surgery for a broken jaw. Crosby finished the regular season with a league-high 1.56 point-per-game average as he had 56 points in 36 games. He also won 54.6 percent of his faceoffs. Crosby was also named the Penguins’ team MVP this season.

The other finalists for the Ted Lindsay award this year were Washington forward Alex Ovechkin and Martin St. Louis of Tampa Bay.

Alex Ovechkin did not go home empty-handed as he won the Hart Trophy for league MVP. Crosby and John Tavares of the New York Islanders were the other finalists for the Hart.

Pittsburgh’s Kris Letang and Minnesota’s Ryan Suter were both finalists for the Norris Trophy, which goes to the top defenseman. The award was won by Montreal’s P.K. Subban.

Brandon Saad of the Chicago Blackhawks, and a Gibsonia native, along with Montreal’s Brendan Gallagher were both finalists for the Calder Trophy, which goes to the league’s top rookie. The award went to Florida’s Jonathan Huberdeau. He is the first Panther to win the Calder Trophy.

Sergei Bobrovsky of the Columbus Blue Jackets won the Vezina Trophy as the league’s top goaltender. He beat out Antti Niemi of San Jose and Henrk Lundqvist of the New York Rangers for the award. Bobrovsky is the first Russian to win the Vezina.

From the Clipboard: The Pens’ Ray Shero was named the NHL General Manager of the Year on Friday night. Here are the rest of the 2013 award winners from Friday: Frank J. Selke Trophy, Jonathan Toews of the Chicago Blackhawks….Jack Adams Award, Paul MacLean of the Ottawa Senators….Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, Martin St. Louis of the Tampa Bay Lightning….NHL Foundation Award, Henrik Zetterberg of the Detroit Red Wings….King Clancy Memorial Trophy, Patrice Bergeron of the Boston Bruins….Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, Josh Harding of the Minnesota Wild….Bridgestone Messier Leadership Award, Daniel Alfredsson of the Ottawa Senators.

Tags: NHL Pittsburgh Penguins Sidney Crosby Ted Lindsay Award

comments powered by Disqus